d.tech’s Music Listening Obsession

Natalie DeMeo | ndemeo20@dtechhs.org | May 27, 2019 Across d.tech, music can be seen wherever you look. From students half-paying attention with one earbud in to d.music’s various lab day groups. Even things such as our school “bell” is music from someone’s iPhone, broadcast over the speakers. d.tech students are obsessed with music, but why? …

How Healthy are Students’ Favorite Snacks?

Ethan Kravitz | ekravitz20@dtechhs.org | May 25, 2019 Cards and cash waving in the air, buttons slamming, people yelling and shoving, and  food dropping on the floor. This is the typical scene found by a regular vending machine in a crowded area –not at the d.tech vending machine, though. The vending machine at d.tech is …

Community Meetings Held to Address Sexting, Results Vary

Vani Suresh and Matthew Silverman | May 24, 2019 Wednesday morning, students were split into separate community meetings based on gender identity to discuss an increasingly relevant topic to our technological generation: sexting. In light of recent events at the school, many students and staff felt the importance of having a school-wide discussion around sexting …

Trials of Twinhood

Alyssa Wend | awend20@dtechhs.org | May 20, 2019 You often see them hanging out together. And you rarely think of one without the other. They always have a built-in best friend. While you might wonder what it’s like to be a twin yourself, what never crosses your mind is the secret struggles of having a …

How Do Juniors Feel About College?

Benjamen Gao | bgao20@dtechhs.org | May 23, 2019 Yearbook ads plaster the walls, prom just passed, and the seniors seem to come to school less and less frequently. Something is becoming increasingly clear to the junior class: it’s time for them to begin thinking about college. So what, exactly, are they thinking about it? For …

A Look at d.tech’s Very Own Internet Influencers

Spencer Kishiyama | skishiyama20@dtechhs.org | May 16, 2019 Dreams of becoming the next Unbox Therapy, Jacob Sartorius, and Jake Paul cross most d.tech students’ minds; especially when they’re twenty minutes into a UE and realize they’ve been trying to solve for “x” on an English test. However, for some students it’s not a dream, it’s becoming …

Console Wars: PS4, Xbox, or PC?

Zale Fadiman | zfadiman20@dtechhs.org | May 22, 2019 There have always been wars between brands: Pepsi vs. Coke vs. RC Cola, Burger King vs. Mcdonalds, and Skittles vs. M&Ms. There is one conflict that rises above the rest, however. It’s the conflict d.tech students are most interested in: Xbox One vs. PS4. This war, known …

The Teen Driving License Drought

Shane DeVolder | sdevolder20@dtechhs.org | May 22, 2019 When you ask elders when they got their driver’s license, a very common answer is the day of their 16th birthday. Nowadays, it has become fairly common to see young adults without a drivers license. The percentage of teens getting their driver’s license has taken a huge …

Senior Prank: Staff Room Invasion!

Jaya Reddy | jreddy19@dtechhs.org | May 21, 2019 POP-POP-POP! Teachers and school leaders were left to work outside in the atrium on May 21st while the seniors partied in the staff room with hundreds of colorful balloons and stacks of red solo cups. Senior pranks take time to plan, and you have to know how …