Kyle Fujii is the Coral King

Jacob Nguyen | jnguyen20@dtechhs.org | May 21, 2019 On the surface, Kyle Fujii is just like any other junior at Design Tech High School. He keeps up with his schoolwork, plays video games like Minesweeper and Fortnite, has a part time job, and gets yelled at by Mr. McAndrew. But beneath the surface, what most …

What is Love? (Baby Don’t Hurt Me)

Avia Levitt | Alevitt19@dtechhs.org | May 20, 2019 What is love? It remains an age old query, the inspiration for so many songs, but no one seems to have the answer. In any of its forms, love is confusing.  Is it when you look at someone and feel overwhelming emotion? Is it about accepting someone …

The Mass Malfunction of Chromebook Chargers

Noah Chen | nchen20@dtechhs.org | May 20, 2019 Picture yourself entering your English class room. Today is the day, you have been preparing for an in-class-essay all week. Reaching into your backpack you pull out your Chromebook, but realize it’s dead. Scrambling to find your charger, you soon realize it too is dead and so …

The Damage We Do to Slough Wildlife

Erez Harel | eharel19@dtechhs.org | May 20, 2019 There was once a saltwater marsh that used to surround the entire San Francisco Bay and in parts stretched miles inland. This original marsh was broken up by civilization, but there are remnants of that marsh, one of which sits on the edge of Redwood City: the …

Swearing: What’s the F****ing Point?

Diego Caoili | dcaoili20@dtechhs.org | May 16, 2019 “Oh F***,” junior Timmy Gee yells because he forgot to do his weekly Spanish notes again, “God f***ing dammit!” Many questions come up when hearing this, such as why does Gee not have great study habits? Beyond that, the real question to focus on is why do …

Queer Eye For the Math Guy

Julia Green | jgreen20@dtechhs.org | May 16, 2019 David Groat: possibly your math teacher, advisor, or a happy go lucky orange man roaming the hallways with a huge smile on his face. No matter what your relationship is to Groat, you can probably tell that he is one of the most genuine and selfless teachers …

How Many People Really Scan In?

Timmy Gee | tgee20@dtechhs.org | May 16, 2019 It’s a normal Tuesday morning: you’re at school completing a CC when suddenly a tremendous earthquake hits the area, causing a city wide power outage. As teachers evacuate their classes, they try to remember who their missing students are. Minutes later, power is restored, and with it, …