Accordion Playing Russian: Q&A With Igor Morozov

Ryan Harsono | rharsono19@dtechhs.org Igor Morozov, an eccentric freshman at d.tech, plays a very unique instrument that has strong ties to his culture: the accordion. Leaving the home he knew so well in Russia only seven years ago, the accordion has remained a constant in Morozov’s life, a hobby that he enjoyed throughout his childhood …

Am I Special Enough For d.tech?

Malia Savella | msavella19@dtechhs.org | June 18, 2018 At d.tech, we believe that the world can be a better place, and that we can be the ones to make it happen. So, what are you doing to make the world a better place? Have you filed for a patent? Have you built a hydrogen car …

Perfect Lunch Spot?

Lauren Pineda | lpineda19@dtechhs.org | June 18, 2018 It’s time for lunch. You’re hungry, you can’t wait to eat, and you want to enjoy the next thirty minutes. Where do you sit? Outside? Inside? Under the stairs? To learn about what makes a lunch spot at d.tech perfect, The Dragon interviewed students from each grade. …

Being a Designer- A Q&A with Galen McAndrew

Maya Pratt Bauman | mprattbauman19@dtechhs.org | June 17, 2018 If you have ever walked into the upstairs DRG, you have probably ran into Galen McAndrew. While he started at d.tech in the front office, he is now the Director of the Design Realization Garage.  McAndrew has a great passion for design and creativity. He is …

d.tech Screen Time: Is It Healthy?

Jessica Baggott | jbaggott19@dtechhs.org | June 16, 2018 At the beginning of your freshman year at d.tech, you are handed your very own, shiny, new Chromebook. This new Chromebook is complete with a d.tech email address, GoGuardian, and pre-connected, somewhat reliable WiFi. You use your Chromebook (which you may or may not have named Gertrude) …

d.tech’s LEED Gold Award

Marius Tali | mtali19@dtechhs.org | June 15, 2018 Design Tech High School’s campus is stunning. Its curved design and glass architecture perfectly mirrors the Oracle Campus. However, looks weren’t the only thing that were taken into consideration. The campus was recognized with the LEED gold award on March 29th of 2018. LEED, or Leadership in …

Powerschool A Power System?

Ella Howard | ehoward19@dtechhs.org | June 12, 2018 Since d.tech’s humble beginnings, students and teachers have seen their fair share of Learning Management Systems, the most recent one being Powerschool. Although the general consensus of the community seem to have a lot of negative things to say about PowerSchool’s performance, it has both positives and …