Kaepernick’s Nike Campaign and d.tech’s Thoughts

Taylor Abbey | tabbey19@dtechhs.org | September 10, 2018 Copyright Nike 2018 Colin Kaepernick, former quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers, has become the subject of polarizing debate in the contemporary American political sphere. In 2016, the ex-NFL star garnered much scrutiny after kneeling during the National Anthem to protest racial injustice in the U.S., causing …

What Was your Maturity Turning Point?

Georgina Fakoukaki | gfakoukaki19@dtechhs.org | June 9, 2018 How have you pursued your dreams here at d.tech? Students have a variety of different ideas, goals, and aspirations they want to bring to life. All that is supported by the school’s staff, design lab, exploration classes, and clubs that allow students to work on passion projects either …

Graduating Early: A Q&A with Kirill Naumov

Victoria Nguyen | vnguyen19@dtechhs.org | June 8, 2018 Kirill Naumov, a junior at d.tech, is taking the quick route to graduate early. He transferred into d.tech the middle of freshman year, with the intent to graduate with the class of 2019. However, in August, Kirill decided that it would be best for him to accelerate …

The Future of d.tech’s Travel Program

Izabella Guerrero | iguerrero19@dtechhs.org | June 9, 2018 You might be wondering, what does it take to be in the travel group at d.tech? What qualities and interests should one have to become a part of this group? In a recent tell-all interview with Director of Student Experience, Melissa Mizel, she revealed what it’s like …

d.tech Prom Versus other Schools’

Sophie Dvorkin | sdvorkin19@dtechhs.org | June 9, 2018 Every year, sometime around the beginning of April, every high school Junior and Senior experiences the wild stampede that is prom. Students all across America spend egregious amounts of money and copious amounts of time preparing for their annual “promenade” in front of their peers for one …

Goldmining in California is Still a Thing

Kevin Pine | kpine19@dtechhs.org | June 8, 2018 It is midday in the mountains and several people are working in a cool California river. One man is digging into the river bank and loading what he has dug into a long metal channel he placed in the river. He takes brief breaks to remove large …

d.tech’s New Scholarship

Jacob Fisher | jfisher19@dtechhs.org | June 8, 2018 Colleges are getting more expensive every year, making it harder on families. In 1987 attending a private four-year college would cost $22,490, and a public four-year college would cost $9030. Today it would cost $46,950 and $20,770, respectively, according to College Board. To combat these rising costs, …

The Scoop on Ms. Anderson’s Fashion

Tyler Campos | tcampos19@dtechhs.org | June 8, 2018 Lessley Anderson is an English teacher for the junior and senior class, and something that everybody notices right when they see her, are her amazing outfits. Every day, Anderson wears something that beats her last outfit. Anderson describes her style and what she looks for in stores …

Earthquake talk with the California Geological Survey

Brandon Yu | brandonyu19@dtechhs.org | June 7, 2018 Earthquakes like the recent 4.5 magnitude earthquake that happened on May 8 in Southern California serve as grim reminders to us all that although we Californians may not have to worry about tornadoes or blizzards, we are faced with the constant risk of earthquakes. So how worried …