How Healthy are Students’ Favorite Snacks?

Ethan Kravitz | ekravitz20@dtechhs.org | May 25, 2019 Cards and cash waving in the air, buttons slamming, people yelling and shoving, and  food dropping on the floor. This is the typical scene found by a regular vending machine in a crowded area –not at the d.tech vending machine, though. The vending machine at d.tech is …

Trials of Twinhood

Alyssa Wend | awend20@dtechhs.org | May 20, 2019 You often see them hanging out together. And you rarely think of one without the other. They always have a built-in best friend. While you might wonder what it’s like to be a twin yourself, what never crosses your mind is the secret struggles of having a …

How Do Juniors Feel About College?

Benjamen Gao | bgao20@dtechhs.org | May 23, 2019 Yearbook ads plaster the walls, prom just passed, and the seniors seem to come to school less and less frequently. Something is becoming increasingly clear to the junior class: it’s time for them to begin thinking about college. So what, exactly, are they thinking about it? For …

A Look at d.tech’s Very Own Internet Influencers

Spencer Kishiyama | skishiyama20@dtechhs.org | May 16, 2019 Dreams of becoming the next Unbox Therapy, Jacob Sartorius, and Jake Paul cross most d.tech students’ minds; especially when they’re twenty minutes into a UE and realize they’ve been trying to solve for “x” on an English test. However, for some students it’s not a dream, it’s becoming …

Console Wars: PS4, Xbox, or PC?

Zale Fadiman | zfadiman20@dtechhs.org | May 22, 2019 There have always been wars between brands: Pepsi vs. Coke vs. RC Cola, Burger King vs. Mcdonalds, and Skittles vs. M&Ms. There is one conflict that rises above the rest, however. It’s the conflict d.tech students are most interested in: Xbox One vs. PS4. This war, known …

The Teen Driving License Drought

Shane DeVolder | sdevolder20@dtechhs.org | May 22, 2019 When you ask elders when they got their driver’s license, a very common answer is the day of their 16th birthday. Nowadays, it has become fairly common to see young adults without a drivers license. The percentage of teens getting their driver’s license has taken a huge …

Kyle Fujii is the Coral King

Jacob Nguyen | jnguyen20@dtechhs.org | May 21, 2019 On the surface, Kyle Fujii is just like any other junior at Design Tech High School. He keeps up with his schoolwork, plays video games like Minesweeper and Fortnite, has a part time job, and gets yelled at by Mr. McAndrew. But beneath the surface, what most …

What is Love? (Baby Don’t Hurt Me)

Avia Levitt | Alevitt19@dtechhs.org | May 20, 2019 What is love? It remains an age old query, the inspiration for so many songs, but no one seems to have the answer. In any of its forms, love is confusing.  Is it when you look at someone and feel overwhelming emotion? Is it about accepting someone …