Meet the New Math Teachers

Hezekiah Smithstein | hsmithstein19@dtechhs.org | August 30, 2018 There are always changes happening at d.tech. Most recently, d.tech has hired two new math teachers to teach Algebra, Geometry, and Pre-Calculus. These two math teachers are Karen Atkinson and Joanne Da Luz. Karen Atkinson, Geometry and Pre-Calculus teacher at d.tech, has been tutoring math since she …

The Truth in Tarot

Jasmin Texidor | jtexidor19@dtechhs.org | June 27, 2018 A practice to ground and guide troubled lives, or a supernatural phenomenon loaded with taboo superstition? Whether either of these perceptions are true, there’s a veil of intrigue and fear surrounding the practice of tarot reading. Believed to have debuted in 15th century Italy under the name “carte …

Paintings on the Wall

Kirby Kromelow | kkromelow19@dtechhs.org | August 27, 2018 One doesn’t have to wander around the classroom neighborhood of Pierce-Wilgus-Wall and Groat long to notice that there is something substantially different about it than all of the other classroom neighborhoods.  Whereas most of the building is bleak and dull, with few forms of art upon its walls, …

Adventures of the Wilgubeast

Elliot Boz | eboz19@dtechhs.org | June 21, 2018 Midway through college, Wade Wilgus realized that he wanted to be a teacher. “It was the best way to account for all of my personality flaws in a positive way,” d.tech’s beloved U.S. History teacher said. “I am prone to being over-enthusiastic; I am prone to being …

Am I Special Enough For d.tech?

Malia Savella | msavella19@dtechhs.org | June 18, 2018 At d.tech, we believe that the world can be a better place, and that we can be the ones to make it happen. So, what are you doing to make the world a better place? Have you filed for a patent? Have you built a hydrogen car …

d.tech Screen Time: Is It Healthy?

Jessica Baggott | jbaggott19@dtechhs.org | June 16, 2018 At the beginning of your freshman year at d.tech, you are handed your very own, shiny, new Chromebook. This new Chromebook is complete with a d.tech email address, GoGuardian, and pre-connected, somewhat reliable WiFi. You use your Chromebook (which you may or may not have named Gertrude) …

Powerschool A Power System?

Ella Howard | ehoward19@dtechhs.org | June 12, 2018 Since d.tech’s humble beginnings, students and teachers have seen their fair share of Learning Management Systems, the most recent one being Powerschool. Although the general consensus of the community seem to have a lot of negative things to say about PowerSchool’s performance, it has both positives and …

d.tech’s Curiosity Project Culture

Ally Shirman | ashirman19@dtechhs.org | June 2, 2018 Passion project, curiosity project, whatever you want to call it – it’s a well known staple of d.tech, and is one of the biggest selling points of the school. Prospective families are introduced to the patented pickpocket proof purse, the giant lifeguard chair, and the guitar made …