Adventures of the Wilgubeast

Elliot Boz | eboz19@dtechhs.org | June 21, 2018 Midway through college, Wade Wilgus realized that he wanted to be a teacher. “It was the best way to account for all of my personality flaws in a positive way,” d.tech’s beloved U.S. History teacher said. “I am prone to being over-enthusiastic; I am prone to being …

Am I Special Enough For d.tech?

Malia Savella | msavella19@dtechhs.org | June 18, 2018 At d.tech, we believe that the world can be a better place, and that we can be the ones to make it happen. So, what are you doing to make the world a better place? Have you filed for a patent? Have you built a hydrogen car …

d.tech Screen Time: Is It Healthy?

Jessica Baggott | jbaggott19@dtechhs.org | June 16, 2018 At the beginning of your freshman year at d.tech, you are handed your very own, shiny, new Chromebook. This new Chromebook is complete with a d.tech email address, GoGuardian, and pre-connected, somewhat reliable WiFi. You use your Chromebook (which you may or may not have named Gertrude) …

Powerschool A Power System?

Ella Howard | ehoward19@dtechhs.org | June 12, 2018 Since d.tech’s humble beginnings, students and teachers have seen their fair share of Learning Management Systems, the most recent one being Powerschool. Although the general consensus of the community seem to have a lot of negative things to say about PowerSchool’s performance, it has both positives and …

d.tech’s Curiosity Project Culture

Ally Shirman | ashirman19@dtechhs.org | June 2, 2018 Passion project, curiosity project, whatever you want to call it – it’s a well known staple of d.tech, and is one of the biggest selling points of the school. Prospective families are introduced to the patented pickpocket proof purse, the giant lifeguard chair, and the guitar made …

What Was your Maturity Turning Point?

Georgina Fakoukaki | gfakoukaki19@dtechhs.org | June 9, 2018 How have you pursued your dreams here at d.tech? Students have a variety of different ideas, goals, and aspirations they want to bring to life. All that is supported by the school’s staff, design lab, exploration classes, and clubs that allow students to work on passion projects either …

GoGuardian: What does d.tech think?

Sean Duarte | sduarte20@dtechhs.org | June 12, 2018 Every d.tech student knows the name GoGuardian – each can recall that signature grey background with the blue lock which reads “Website Blocked.” There is also that tantalizing, bright blue button inscribed with a single word: “Bypass.” As a result, many students yearn for a world without …

Families Farmed in Silicon Valley

Malia Savella | msavella19@dtechhs.org | June 10, 2018 Oracle. Google. Facebook. Apple. These are some of the big-name companies that live in our backyards and have been omnipresent since most d.tech students were able to talk. However, the initial pioneers of such companies are no longer young and hip; they’re greying parents. We Silicon Valley-bred, …

Theater: The Missing Piece At d.tech

Courtney Sullivan Wu | csullivanwu19@dtechhs.org | June 7, 2018 You leap out of the wings, blinded by the stage lights for a split second as you face the audience. You can’t help smiling as the music starts to speed up, confident your months of rehearsing has prepared you to the fullest. You’re sweaty and exhausted, …