Should School Camping Trips Be Brought Back?

Aya O’Malley | aomalley20@dtechhs.org | May 30, 2019 The last time d.tech had a schoolwide camping trip was 2017. Freshman and Sophomores may not have experienced the trip at Casini Ranch, but they have probably heard about it from their fellow upperclassmen. Since the beginning of d.tech, our school has provided their students a whole …

Behind the Scenes of Our Theater Stars

Miriam Dijamco | mdijamco20@dtechhs.org | May 28, 2019 When thinking of the theater, the first thing that comes to most people’s minds is usually a large production, such as Broadway. However, that is not all there is to theater, and most people in theater start at an early age, far from the big stages. Here …

Are More People At d.tech Single?

Gabriel Lim | glim20@dtechhs.org | May 28, 2019 Hello lonely d.tech dragons! You wonder why you, like so many other students at d.tech, are single? Does it seem like your friends at other schools are having more romance in their lives? While high school relationships are notoriously short-lived, messy, and brimming with drama, many d.tech …

Opinions on d.tech’s Unique Academic Policies

Lily Chambers | lchambers20@dtechhs.org | May 28, 2019 There is no question that d.tech’s nontraditional academic structure has an affect on students. With lack of Advanced Placement (AP) classes, limited electives, greater creative freedom on assignments, and revision policies, many students flourish in the unconventional way of teaching, while others don’t always feel like it …

d.tech’s Music Listening Obsession

Natalie DeMeo | ndemeo20@dtechhs.org | May 27, 2019 Across d.tech, music can be seen wherever you look. From students half-paying attention with one earbud in to d.music’s various lab day groups. Even things such as our school “bell” is music from someone’s iPhone, broadcast over the speakers. d.tech students are obsessed with music, but why? …

How Healthy are Students’ Favorite Snacks?

Ethan Kravitz | ekravitz20@dtechhs.org | May 25, 2019 Cards and cash waving in the air, buttons slamming, people yelling and shoving, and  food dropping on the floor. This is the typical scene found by a regular vending machine in a crowded area –not at the d.tech vending machine, though. The vending machine at d.tech is …

Trials of Twinhood

Alyssa Wend | awend20@dtechhs.org | May 20, 2019 You often see them hanging out together. And you rarely think of one without the other. They always have a built-in best friend. While you might wonder what it’s like to be a twin yourself, what never crosses your mind is the secret struggles of having a …

How Do Juniors Feel About College?

Benjamen Gao | bgao20@dtechhs.org | May 23, 2019 Yearbook ads plaster the walls, prom just passed, and the seniors seem to come to school less and less frequently. Something is becoming increasingly clear to the junior class: it’s time for them to begin thinking about college. So what, exactly, are they thinking about it? For …