Daylight Savings is Saving No One

Ally Shirman | ashirman19@dtechhs.org | November 5, 2018 I woke up on Sunday morning, dazed by the light shining into my room. I checked the time, expecting it to be around 7:30 am because the sun normally rises around then. But it wasn’t. It was an hour earlier. After some confused thoughts, I finally realized …

Getting Cheesed: A Cheese Review

Jasmin Texidor | jtexidor19@dtechhs.org | November 5, 2018 What began 10,000 years ago was only an accident — A simple mistake made by travelers wishing for a place to store their precious milk. Inside the stomachs of animals was where milk found its sanctuary, but also its demise. You see, an enzyme in the animal …

Seeking Out Opposing Perspectives is Important

Jessica Baggott | jbaggott19@dtechhs.org | October 29, 2018 Like many others, I often open YouTube, looking to find a video that will fill some of my time. I start scrolling down the homepage, suggested videos with titles such as “SICKENING Matte Pink Makeup Tutorial” and “SISTER VS. BEST FRIEND: WHO KNOWS ME BETTER” quickly flash …

Where is the Personalization?

Vani Suresh | vsuresh19@dtechhs.org | October 22, 2018 Design Tech High School is renowned to the world for multiple things. Design thinking (cue the oohs), self-direction (cue the aahs), and last but not least personalization (OMG!). The concept of personalization manifested itself in self-paced courses, ever-changing schedules, and student initiative. During year one of d.tech, …

Selling Your Soul and the Terms of Service

Joshua Bennett | jbennett19@dtechhs.org | October 10, 2018 Everyone knows that when you sign up for the latest amazing web service, the website will ask for your name, username, email and password. Most people just type them in, not even thinking about what the company will do with them. People are then offered a chance …

Shower Handle Rundown

Story and Photos Ally Shirman | ashirman19@dtechhs.org | September 27, 2018  Imagine you’re staying at a friend’s or relative’s house, or sleeping at a hotel. When it comes time to shower, you don’t give it a second thought. But once in the bathroom, a sense of dread fills your body when you realize you can’t …

Listen While You Work (It)

Marcus Figueroa | mfigueroa19@dtechhs.org | September 20, 2018 You take your computer out, place it on your desk, reach into your backpack, and take out your phone. You open your music streaming app, put your earbuds in your ears and begin listening to your favorite, upbeat song. The sound of the music pulses through your …

Reconsiderating Friday FIT

Thomas Weese | tweese19@dtechhs.org | August 27, 2018 Juniors and seniors remember it. Freshmen and sophomores have heard about it. Design Tech High School’s structure was at perhaps its most experimental with it in place, from 2014 to June 2016. It, of course, is none other than the infamous Friday FIT, a dedicated block from 1-3:35 …