Who is Dave?

Daphne Palmeter | dpalmeter19@dtechhs.org | September 16, 2018 In an attempt to build better connections with students and make the classroom a little less formal, d.tech’s one and only statistics, calculus, and Algebra 2 teacher, Mr. David Groat, has announced that this year, he would like students to call him by his first name: Dave. …

Kaepernick’s Nike Campaign and d.tech’s Thoughts

Taylor Abbey | tabbey19@dtechhs.org | September 10, 2018 Copyright Nike 2018 Colin Kaepernick, former quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers, has become the subject of polarizing debate in the contemporary American political sphere. In 2016, the ex-NFL star garnered much scrutiny after kneeling during the National Anthem to protest racial injustice in the U.S., causing …

Bathroom Breaks

Jared Lin, Maria McAlister-Young, Alyssa Shirman, Hezekiah Smithstein | September 7, 2018   Since school has started, there have been two major bathroom issues in just as many weeks. Most recently, a faucet in the east upstairs boys bathroom was rotated away from the sink, consequently flooding the bathroom. After a junior boy emailed Henry …

The Debate Over Senior FITs

Sofia Almeida | salmeida19@dtechhs.org | September 4, 2018 As d.tech students are getting their schedules for the 2018-19 school year, an ongoing conflict between seniors and staff has been brewing over how they should be allowed to use their FIT time which, for many seniors, can span multiple periods every day. Seniors who have found themselves …

d.tech’s LEED Gold Award

Marius Tali | mtali19@dtechhs.org | June 15, 2018 Design Tech High School’s campus is stunning. Its curved design and glass architecture perfectly mirrors the Oracle Campus. However, looks weren’t the only thing that were taken into consideration. The campus was recognized with the LEED gold award on March 29th of 2018. LEED, or Leadership in …

Goldmining in California is Still a Thing

Kevin Pine | kpine19@dtechhs.org | June 8, 2018 It is midday in the mountains and several people are working in a cool California river. One man is digging into the river bank and loading what he has dug into a long metal channel he placed in the river. He takes brief breaks to remove large …

d.tech’s New Scholarship

Jacob Fisher | jfisher19@dtechhs.org | June 8, 2018 Colleges are getting more expensive every year, making it harder on families. In 1987 attending a private four-year college would cost $22,490, and a public four-year college would cost $9030. Today it would cost $46,950 and $20,770, respectively, according to College Board. To combat these rising costs, …