Insecurities

| Jane Wang | jwang20@dtechhs.org | February 20, 2020 | Many of us have felt insecure before—looked in the mirror and scowled to see acne-scarred skin or “too-skinny” arms. We’ve scrolled through videos of child-prodigies in our YouTube feeds, lamenting how we’ve done nothing with our lives. Even at school, many of us eye our …

Jesus is Born: Kanye… Almost

| Nicholas Boyko | nboyko20@dtechhs.org | January 28, 2020 | Since his first foray into music, Kanye West has been one of the most contentious modern musical artists. Although he wasn’t always motivated enough to create a fully religious album, his obsession with the spiritual and the powerful has long been at the forefront of …

Cats: Musical Turned Movie Fail

| Samantha Mah | smah21@dtechhs.org | January 28, 2020 | The film Cats, released on December 20, 2019, has been notorious for its egregious critic and audience reviews. The musical fantasy film is based on the musical composed by Andrew Lloyd Webber, which is based on the 1939 poetry collection Old Possum’s Book of Practical …

Letters from the Editors In Chief

Hezekiah Smithstein (Editor in Chief, Web) Thoughout this past year, reporting, writing, editing, and publishing stories for The Dragon has consumed my waking hours. But it has also allowed me to step back from my own life to share the vibrant personalities, experiences, and perspectives of the d.tech community. Being Editor in Chief of The …

Ghost Adventures is too Para-Normal

Tyler Sanderville | tsanderville19@dtechhs.org | May 15, 2019 If I truly had it my way, the only thing I’d say about this romping humdrum of a show is that my first viewing put me to sleep faster than an empty lab day. The show even earned The Truly Terrible Television award from the Independent Investigations …

My Senior Regrets…

Yohanna Konardi | ykonardi19@dtechhs.org | May 15, 2019 Coming from a traditionally Asian background where education is held in the highest regard, I was raised with the mentality that getting into the best colleges should be my top priority from the very beginning of my high school career — and that’s exactly how I started …

The Shedd Report: Beach Edition!

Ethan Shedd | eshedd20@dtechhs.org | May 15, 2019 The wait is over. I, Ethan Shedd, have trekked across the Bay Area (aided by my parents’ driving) and infiltrated five local beaches, questioning strangers and interviewing some of d.tech’s coastally-inclined, to bestow upon you a detailed report of these sandy waterfronts, listed from North to South. …