d.tech Cancels Nepal Trip Over Coronavirus Concerns

| Leo Belman | lbelman20@dtechhs.org | March 9, 2020 | On Sunday, March 15th, ten d.tech students and two chaperones, Academic Coordinator Kathleen Odell and Academic Counselor Molly Robertson, were scheduled to depart for a service trip in Nepal, but problems have come up amidst rising concerns surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, better known as the …

Album Review: Quadra by Sepultura

| Corwin Davidson | cdavidson20@dtechhs.org | March 6, 2020 | Sepultura is perhaps the most famous Brazilian metal band there is. Founded by brothers Max and Igor Cavalera in the city of Belo Horizonte when they were just teenagers, the band in its early years distinguished itself with pioneering thrash metal, notable for its straightforwardness, …

Conspiracy Theories Circulate over Coronavirus Outbreak

| Jemma Schroder | jschroder20@dtechhs.org | March 5, 2020 | With confirmed cases upwards of one hundred-thousand, the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak doesn’t seem to be slowing down anytime soon. What also doesn’t seem to be slowing down is what the United Nations has deemed an “infodemic:” the increasing amount of conspiracy theories and misinformation spread …

What goes on at Board Meetings?

| Leo Belman | lbelman20@dtechhs.org | March 4, 2020 | On February 19th, the d.tech board convened in the staff room for a meeting, which are held on Wednesdays monthly. As board meetings are where a lot of important decisions about d.tech get made, it is important to know a bit about what goes on …

Hillsdale Caltrain Station To Close Temporarily

|Steven Sutton | ssutton23@dtechhs.org | March 2, 2020 | Belmont Caltrain will soon be busy with up to six months of fast “Baby Bullet” and “Limited” stop trains. These trains, which currently bypass Belmont in favor of larger stops with more ridership, will be redirected from Hillsdale Station during its approximately six-month closure beginning sometime …

Congresswomen Jackie Speier Visits d.tech!

| Kira Hofelmann | khofelmann20@dtechhs.org | February 28, 2020 | On Monday, February 24th, juniors and seniors attended a talk at d.tech given by special guest speaker, Congresswoman and Representative of California District 14, Jackie Speier. Organized by Director of Learning Nicole Cerra, Speier took the time to come and share her experiences and collected …

d.tech’s Hunger Games

| Leo Belman | lbelman20@dtechhs.org | February 26, 2020 | Late in the evening of Saturday, February 22nd, nearly half of d.tech seniors received a different sort of homework assignment. “Senior Water Assassins” is one variant of the popular and widespread college and high school game called “Assassin” or “Killer,” and has found its way …

Insecurities

| Jane Wang | jwang20@dtechhs.org | February 20, 2020 | Many of us have felt insecure before—looked in the mirror and scowled to see acne-scarred skin or “too-skinny” arms. We’ve scrolled through videos of child-prodigies in our YouTube feeds, lamenting how we’ve done nothing with our lives. Even at school, many of us eye our …

Jackie Speier is Coming to d.tech

| Steven Sutton | ssutton23@dtechhs.org | February 19, 2020 | Jackie Speier, Representative for California’s 14th District (San Mateo County), will be paying d.tech a visit on Monday, February 24th. Having represented the county which d.tech calls home since 2008, Representative Speier will be coming to our school to make a short speech to students. …